Skip to main content





Add Me To Your Mailing List
Shopping Cart


Upcoming League Events    

Advocacy & Action   About Us   Webmaster News   

       Elections_Blog    Member Profile      Calendar


Welcome to the League of Women Voters of La Plata County


Karen McManus WINS                  

the Gerry Cummins Empowering Voters Award

We are pleased to announce that on May 22, at the virtual League of Women’s Voters Colorado Annual Convention, Karen McManus was awarded the Gerry Cummins Empowering Voters Award.

Karen won the award based on her “demonstrated strong dedication to educate voters in a fair, non-partisan way with an unwavering determination to provide both sides of an issue(s) and/or candidate positions without bias and outreach to under-served voters”. 


Karen accepted the award acknowledging she was part of a strong La Plata County team that included Ross and Ellen Park and Jean Aaro along with many other volunteer members.

We congratulate Karen on this recognition and salute her amazing leadership of our local voter services efforts.  If you are inspired to work with Karen on voter education and voter services, please reach out to her by email at:

The League of Women Voters of La Plata County is committed to encouraging voters to exercise their right to vote from a position of knowledge and confidence.

The 2021 election for the LPEA Board of Directors is closing soon.
Be sure to cast your ballot before 4PM on June 16.
It is too late to send your ballot by mail, so please drop off at any of these locations:

La Plata County Clerk & Recorder, 98 Everett St., Durango

County Administration Building, 1101 East Second Ave., Durango

Bayfield Town Hall, 1199 Bayfield Parkway, Bayfield

Farmer’s Fresh Market, 535 Goddard Ave., Ignacio

LPEA Office Durango, 45 Stewart St.

LPEA Office Pagosa Springs, 603 S. Eighth St.

For info about the candidates, click LPEA Election

2021 Election Timeline:

February 17, 2021: 
Board Director Candidate Packets available

May 3, 2021, at 1 p.m.: Candidate materials due to LPEA
May 17, 2021: Ballots mailed to all LPEA members
June 16, 2021, at 4 p.m.: Ballots due
June 17, 2021, at 6 p.m.: Partial, virtual Annual Meeting to announce election results

Upcoming News & League Events

Recent Articles
Recent Articles
Upcoming Events
Upcoming Events

Click the image below to register for the event
and the link below the picture to submit comments and questions

Submit your comments and questions to

League Advocacy and Action

Colorado Secretary of State Jena Griswold Applauds Colorado Assembly for Passing Election Bills

June 9, 2021 DENVER, Colo- With the 73rd Colorado General Assembly having officially ended, Secretary of State Jena Griswold today congratulates legislators on a successful session, including the passage of five bills that will strengthen Colorado elections. Secretary Griswold also thanks legislators for rejecting bills designed to restrict voter access in the state.        

"As states across the country erect barriers to voting, I am proud that Colorado remains dedicated to voting access and security," said Secretary Griswold. "From making it easier for all Coloradans to understand their ballot through the establishment of a multilingual election hotline to ranked choice voting and election security grants, the bills passed this session help further ensure that Colorado elections remain the nation’s gold standard." 

For additional info on the 2021 CO bills passed click HERE.

Find more Action Alerts on our ACTION ALERTS page

and don't forget to contact your LOCAL REPRESENTATIVES


About Us - LWVLPC Leadership Team

The League is nonpartisan, neither supporting nor opposing candidates or political parties at any level of government, but always working on vital issues of concern to members and the public.  We encourage informed and active participation in government, and work to increase understanding of major public policy issues.  We influence public policy through education and advocacy based on policy positions that are adopted by our members following studies and agreement.

The League of Women Voters of La Plata County has restated its goals
for Justice, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion -

The League of Women Voters of La Plata County works for a stronger democracy, rooted in principles of justice, equity, diversity, and inclusion. Our JEDI working group is committed to ensuring that every voice is heard, every individual is counted, and every person has a seat at the table. 2/22/2021

League of Women Voters Elects New Board of Directors


On May 19, at its 2021 Annual Meeting, the La Plata County Chapter of the League of Women Voters elected the following members to the Board of Directors for 2021-2022:


President – Laurie Meininger

Vice President – Diane Goodchild

Secretary- Martha Mason

Treasurer – Deb Ruddell

Immediate Past President – Jean Aaro

Members-at -Large:

            Alex Lemmel

            Ellen Park

            Trish Pegram


In her remarks to members, the incoming Board President told those gathered on ZOOM that she was impressed with the strength of the Board and thanked members for their commitment to the voters and would-be voters of La Plata County.  On behalf of the Board, Laurie also expressed great appreciation for out-going President Jean Aaro who admirably led the LWV La Plata during two years of very challenging circumstances.  Laurie also acknowledged several areas of focus for the League over the next year including voting rights, redistricting, health care and climate change and figuring out how/when to safely return to in-person gatherings.  A guiding priority for the year is the League’s commitment to justice, equity, diversity, and inclusion practices to bring new voices and perspectives to the League’s work across the county on a wide range of issues.


Meininger also noted that the work of the LWV is similar to running a marathon relay race – it takes long-term focus, stamina, commitment, teamwork and regular participation.  She thanked those already volunteering and invited all members to step up and join in the work to keep the League and local, state and national democratic institutions healthy and strong.  Members interested in volunteering can reach the Board via email at:

Our LWVLPC Leadership Team for 2021-2022 welcomes you

Board of Directors

Laurie Meininger, President

Diane Goodchild, Vice President

Deb Ruddell, Treasurer

Martha Mason, Secretary

Trish Pegram, Director at Large

Ellen Park, Director at Large

Alex Lemmel, Director at Large

Jean Aaro, Past President

Committee Leaders

Karen McManus – Voter Services Team

Diane Goodchild - Membership Team

Alex Lemmel - JEDI Team

Ross Park - Free & Fair Elections Team

Ross Park – Communications & Technology Team, Webmaster

Contact us via Our Contact Page

Webmaster News